India Route crowned the world’s ultimate riding wonder

The “Coorg to Munnar via Ooty” India route was crowned the world’s ultimate riding wonder at the 2011 Shell Advance Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix.

Coorg to Munnar via Ooty, India

This rural region of India offers some of the country’s most stunning landscapes. Coorg was originally called Kodaimalenadu, which means “dense forest on a steep hill” and the region certainly lives up to that name.

Flat pasture quickly makes way for narrow and twisting tree-lined roads, rising up into the hills. It’s a marvel for the senses, as you enjoy the sight – and smell – of coffee, pepper, cardamom, cinnamon and tea plantations along the way.

Distance covered: 507km

After several months of searching, Shell Advance unveiled Coorg to Munnar via Ooty, India, as the world’s ultimate Riding Wonder at an exclusive event held at the 2011 Shell Advance Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix.

In Sepang, a panel of experts from Ducati, Dorna, Shell Advance and the Sepang International Circuit, as well as selected media from China, India and Indonesia, in a discussion to decide which route would be crowned the world’s ultimate Riding Wonder from the list of the top 7 Riding Wonders voted for by the public.

The panellists’ votes were combined with the public votes from 8 countries to reveal Coorg to Munnar via Ooty, India as the winner. It received many public votes and was chosen by two of the seven panellists because of its varied scenery, mixture of mountain climbs, twisting corners and diverse wildlife along the route.

Tanmay Jaswal, Shell Advance Global Marketing Manager: “When Shell Advance launched the 7 Riding Wonders of the World campaign, we were asking biking enthusiasts to help us find the riding roads, tracks and routes around the world that best complement our ethos of Responsiveness, Control and Enjoyment.

The Jury Panelists included our very own Aspi Bhathena as well.

List of Campaign Winners from India :

1. Mr. Rajinder Kakkar, Delhi
2. Mr. Jayaram Peramanathan, Bangalore
3. Mr. Sanjay Ramkishan Kakani, Yavatmal
4. Mr. Jagdish Srikrishna, Indore
5. Mr. Vinod Kumar, Hoshiarpur
6. Mr. Dinesh Chowdhary, Hyderabad
7. Mr. Sanjeev Talwar, Delhi
8. Mr. Kamesh Talluri, Hyderabad

Some Photographs about the Riding Wonder.'

Bike India Team – who has written posts on Bike India.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *